One year in the EMES PhD Representative’s shoes

From October 2019 to January 2021, I was elected PhD Representative at the EMES Board of Directors. As such, I attended all meetings with other directors of EMES.

I remember my very first Board of Directors; it was in Brussels. You can probably imagine that I was beyond stressed: a young PhD student, about to meet all of these (famous) professors! Not to add any stress, I was running late… I recall entering the meeting room and, suddenly, everyone was really happy to see me. I was greeted like any other member and it instantly felt like there was nothing to be stressed about.

This is something that I really enjoyed throughout my experience as an EMES board member: my opinion was valued as much as anyone else, even on matters that did not concern the PhD community. The atmosphere was always amicable while serious.

Of course, I was not standing alone on this journey and I worked closely with 4 other PhD students throughout the year to ensure EMES PhD Community was well represented. I believe this really was a valuable add-on compared to the previous years, especially since, as PhD Representative, you are expected to give voice to your fellow EMES PhD Members.

Overall, this experience enabled me to better understand how an international academic network functions, ranging from the organisation of an international conference to seeking funds. I believe it also helped me to build up my confidence both as an individual and a scholar. Leaving the Board was a difficult decision and I will always remember this experience positively. There could not have been any better network than EMES to start being involved!

Coline Serres

Coline is a Ph.D. Candidate in Economics and Management at the Centre for European Research in Microfinance (CERMi) at Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB). Her research interests evolve around social entreprises and the commons goods. In particular, she focuses on the governance of for-profit social enterprises governing commons. As of September 2021, Coline will become a Postdoctoral Fellow in Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑